2018 Results

The 2018 Step Up Sky Tower Stair Challenge held on 10 August 2018 raised $417,347 for Leukaemia & Blood Cancer New Zealand. 78 teams from around New Zealand took part in this year’s event, garnering huge fundraising support from their workplaces and local communities.

Wayne Maguire from The Ray White Racers was named the top fundraiser for 2018 with an outstanding total of $13,161. Jen Kendrick from Sothebys International Realty was second with $11,930 followed by Carey Smith, also from The Ray White Racers with a total of $10,430.

The top fundraising team for 2018 was Home by Farmers raising an incredible $53,293 for LBC – just WOW! Coming in second was The Ray White Racers on $24,416 and in third Bridgestone NZ – Jacked Up with $20,207

The fundraising team spirit awards went to the two Grind Fitness teams from Wellington who had a combined total of $21,889.

In the race time awards, Will Laery from BNZ 80 Queen Street took first place reaching the top of the tower in a fantastic time of 6 minutes and 16 seconds. The fastest woman up the tower was Gabrielle Carter from the Bell Gully team with a time of 8 minutes and 26 seconds.

BNZ 80 Queen Street Team were awarded first place at prize-giving for the fastest time. There has been a correction to the fastest team winners, and we would also like to congratulate Auckland Grammar School Junior Masters who have taken the top spot who meet the category guidelines.

A massive thanks to all the incredible teams that took part and SKYCITY for their huge support of the event.

View full race results
Check out photos of the 2018 Step Up Sky Tower Challenge on Facebook

Winning Race Results


  1. Gabrielle Carter, Bell Gully
    8 minutes, 26 seconds
  2. Amelia Wilson, The Patriots
    9 minutes, 5 seconds
  3. Natasha Shackelford, The Patriots
    9 minutes, 13 seconds


  1. Will Laery, BNZ 80 Queen Street
    6 minutes, 16 seconds
  2. Donal McGoldrick, Heroes with Hearts LBC
    6 minutes, 26 seconds
  3. Jayden Thomasen, EY Beams
    6 minutes, 50 seconds


  1. Auckland Grammar School Junior Masters
    44 minutes, 27 seconds
  2. EY Leads
    48 minutes, 15 seconds
  3. Bell Gully
    48 minutes, 31 seconds